Skip to content
Secret Bay
Ultra-LuxuryBeach

Portsmouth, Dominica

27 operating villas across four current enclaves
Fruto Vivas; Claude Lauture for Ti-Fèy and Mapou
Portsmouth, Dominica

Secret Bay: Twenty-seven plunge-pool villas across four operating rainforest enclaves above Dominica’s Caribbean coast

Secret Bay occupies a rainforest-and-clifftop site at Tibay near Portsmouth, with 27 operating villas spread across Peninsula, Hillside, Clifftop, and Summit. Every current villa has a private plunge pool, full kitchen, open-air living area, covered terrace, dedicated host, and an ocean or jungle outlook. Fruto Vivas designed the original Zabuco villas, while Claude Lauture is credited for Ti-Fèy and Mapou. Choose the exact category and enclave rather than a generic villa: funicular service applies to Hillside, Clifftop, and Summit, and the detailed accessible-villa fit-out is limited to Clifftop Zabuco III and IV and Summit Zabuco I. The house does not state a current opening year.

Settle the child rule, villa, airport plan, and cancellation policy before paying. The rates page welcomes children under 16 in all villas with a signed parent or guardian waiver, subject to occupancy; the overview FAQ instead says children under 12 are welcome in one- or two-bedroom villas with a waiver and constant supervision. Both remain current house statements, and Terrazza's rooftop lounge and no-menu dining are separately 16+, while Bwa Denn Kitchen, Botanica, Gwiyavyé Lap Pool, Zamann Watersports Hut, and Tibay Beach welcome accompanied under-16s. Current rates say round-trip airport transfers have been included in all rates since January 9, 2025; an official 2024 questionnaire uploaded in 2025 says they are complimentary only for stays of at least seven nights. Ask the resort to identify the rule attached to the booked rate. Douglas-Charles and Canefield are described as about one hour by road, and check-in is 3pm with check-out at 11am in the villa.

Reserve constrained dining and spa requests as soon as the stay is confirmed. Bwa Denn Kitchen serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily; Terrazza serves evening à la carte daily and no-menu dining on Tuesday and Friday. Zing Zing is currently presented as a seasonal, 20-seat, six-course dinner-style experience with advance booking essential and no current clock hours. A May 2026 arrival guide instead prints daily lunch from noon to 3pm and dinner from 6pm to 9pm, a timetable that conflicts with the current returned format; confirm the live calendar with the villa host. Botanica's six-seat cooking classes run Monday, Wednesday, and Friday from 11am to 3:30pm, though meal-service hours are not stated. Gommier Spa has no published facility hours, treatment-room count, or blanket age minimum, and the wellness pavilion, fitness facility, lap pool, and private plunge pools also have no published operating hours.

Base-stay inclusions are the Organic Breakfast Basket replenished on request, round-trip airport transfer under the current rates wording, a dedicated villa host and concierge, twice-daily housekeeping with turndown, security, villa phone and Wi-Fi, and named non-motorised equipment. Meals and drinks beyond an applicable plan, extra pre-stocking, delivery and private-setting setup charges, private-chef experiences, spa services, tours, and off-property providers are extra unless a package expressly includes them. Dining Included itself contains an unresolved entitlement conflict: the detailed dining index lists one Zing Zing experience and one Botanica lunch and one private-chef cooking class, while the standalone page promises one signature experience at Zing Zing or Botanica. Island-Included adds Dining Included benefits, transfers, non-motorised watersports, an Indian River tour, and one selected daily adventure or spa service, subject to its stated minimum participation and daily limit. Secret Bay is not a true all-inclusive resort by default.

Minimum stays rise from three nights in low season to four, five, or seven nights in other named seasons, with shorter stays only by request. Standard terms still call for 90 days' cancellation or modification notice, extending to 120 days in Great Escape, with deposits or the full stay becoming non-refundable at the stated points. A separate 2026 flexible policy on the rates page applies from April 1 through December 17, uses a valid card without deposit, calls for full payment 21 days before arrival, and converts cancellation or modification from one to 21 days before arrival into a non-transferable six-month deferred-stay credit; a no-show forfeits the stay. The dedicated travel-policy page instead runs April 1 through October 31, offers a 12-month credit, and uses more-than-90-day, 21-to-90-day, and under-21-day windows. Those live policies disagree, so the confirmation must name the applicable cancellation schedule and credit life.

Room measurements also require category discipline. Zabuco's hotel card says 3,028–4,083 total indoor/outdoor square feet while owner listings use smaller sale-unit figures; Ti-Fèy's guest card says 1,686–2,799 and 1.5 or 2.5 bedrooms while owner material uses different areas and one- or three-bedroom labels. Ylang Ylang's guest card says 2,030 while owner material says 1,600. Mapou's current card and enclave guide say 1,220, repeated navigation says 1,120, and future Waterfront material uses 1,378 or 880 on two owner bases. The Honeymoon index says 1,120–3,330, its card says up to 3,303, and the enclave guide says 1,120–3,303. Multi-Villa Estates publish six hotel configurations from 3,372 to 6,056, while owner pages use separate Clifftop and Summit valuations. Confirm the guest-card basis and never treat the future Waterfront or Cliffside inventory as operating accommodation.

Current shared facilities are Bwa Denn Kitchen and Terrazza, seasonal Zing Zing, Botanica, Gwiyavyé Lap Pool and bar, Gommier Spa, Bwa Mang Wellness Pavilion, open-air fitness, watersports, and the two currently promoted private beaches. Waterfront and Cliffside are under construction: planned Waterfront Mapou villas, Papai restaurant, pool, and bar, plus future Cliffside Ti-Fèy+ and Kampech inventory, are not current facilities. Loryé and Sitwon are future Summit spa pavilions taking shape, not open treatment venues. Current guidance says construction is removed from operating enclaves and should not meet guests during a stay.

Book Secret Bay if a self-contained plunge-pool villa, host-led logistics, rainforest terrain, and a dining plan assembled around a few reserved experiences suit the trip. Skip it if the party needs one unambiguous child threshold, guaranteed rooftop access for under-16s, a flat walk without reliance on the funicular or cart, published pool or spa hours, conventional 24-hour room service, or a settled cancellation policy without written confirmation. No property-wide pet policy is published, so travelling with an animal requires direct approval. Tripadvisor scores the resort 4.9 out of 5 from 726 reviews, and Google scores it 4.7 out of 5 from 120 reviews.

Secret Bay
A timber villa and private plunge pool perched above Secret Bay’s rocky Caribbean shoreline
A villa plunge pool and secluded timber deck opening toward the Caribbean at sunset
An open-sided timber pavilion illuminated beneath Secret Bay’s rainforest canopy

First day

  1. Get the child rule in writing: rates say under 16 in all villas with a waiver, while the overview FAQ says under 12 in one- or two-bedroom villas with waiver and constant supervision; Terrazza is 16+.
  2. Confirm the exact villa, guest-card area, maximum occupancy, and access route, including funicular service and whether one of the three named accessible Zabuco villas is required.
  3. Confirm round-trip airport transfer inclusion for the booked rate because current rates say all rates while the official 2024 questionnaire says stays of at least seven nights.
  4. Book Bwa Denn, Terrazza, Zing Zing, Botanica, and private settings as needed; use current seasonal Zing Zing guidance, not the May 2026 daily lunch-and-dinner timetable.
  5. Clarify Dining Included in writing because one page promises Zing Zing and Botanica and a private-chef cooking class, while another says Zing Zing or Botanica.
  6. Reserve Gommier treatments and ask for actual operating times because spa, wellness-pavilion, fitness, lap-pool, and private-pool hours are not published.
  7. Confirm the applicable standard or flexible cancellation window and whether any deferred-stay credit lasts six or 12 months.
  8. Plan breakfast around the complimentary replenished Organic Breakfast Basket and any chosen meal plan; delivery is not conventional 24-hour room service and has no published overnight schedule.
  9. Ask for written pet approval before travel because no property-wide pet policy is published.
  10. Verify that no planned Waterfront, Cliffside, Papai, Loryé, or Sitwon facility has been mistaken for a currently operating amenity.

What guests say

Hotel Flock Score

9.7/ 10

Exceptional

Based on 846 published ratings

Category breakdown

Location
9.5
Cleanliness
9.6
Rooms
9.5
Service
9.6
Dining
8.9
Design
9.6
Value
7.8

Guests Love

  • Tripadvisor score

    Tripadvisor records 4.9 out of 5 from 726 reviews.

  • Google score

    Google records 4.7 out of 5 from 120 reviews.

Guests Warn

  • House conflicts need written confirmation

    Child eligibility, transfers, package signatures, cancellation credits, Zing Zing hours, and several room areas differ across current house materials.

  • Several operating details are unpublished

    Pets, spa and pool hours, conventional 24-hour room service, and most private-setting schedules require direct confirmation.

The overall score is a review-count-weighted average of named public platforms, normalized to /10. Category scores — including cleanliness and location — are Hotel Flock editorial readings of those reviews, not a platform's private formula. Hotel Flock is not affiliated with Tripadvisor, Booking.com, Trivago, or any other review site.

Awards & Recognition

Two MICHELIN Keys

Stated on the official homepage and the resort’s 2025 Keys announcement

MICHELIN Guide

World's Best — #1 Caribbean Resort

Claimed on the official About page, four years running

Travel + Leisure

In the stay

  • Organic Breakfast Basket, pre-stocked and replenished on request
  • Round-trip airport transfer under the current rates-page wording, subject to the conflict with the seven-night questionnaire rule
  • Dedicated villa host, concierge, twice-daily housekeeping and turndown, security, villa phone, and Wi-Fi
  • Named non-motorised equipment including kayaks, paddleboards, snorkelling gear, and yoga mats

Usually extra

  • –Meals and drinks outside the selected rate or meal plan, additional pre-stocking, and in-villa delivery charges
  • –Private-chef service, cooking classes, and private outdoor dining setups unless expressly included
  • –Gommier treatments, tours, and off-property providers unless the selected package expressly includes them

Good to Know

  • Rates welcome under-16s in all villas with a waiver; the overview FAQ says under 12 in one- or two-bedroom villas with waiver and constant supervision.
  • Terrazza and its no-menu experience are 16+; Bwa Denn Kitchen and Botanica are the stated family alternatives.
  • Current Zing Zing pages say seasonal, 20 seats, and no clock hours; a May 2026 guide instead prints daily lunch and dinner hours.
  • Current rates include round-trip airport transfers for all rates; the 2024 questionnaire says complimentary only for stays of at least seven nights.
  • The rates-page flexible policy runs through December 17 with a six-month credit; the travel-policy page runs through October 31 with a 12-month credit and different windows.
  • Standard cancellation wording calls for 90 days' notice, or 120 days in Great Escape, alongside the conflicting flexible policy.
  • No property-wide pet policy, spa hours, lap-pool or villa-pool hours, or conventional 24-hour room service is published.
  • Waterfront, Cliffside, Loryé, Sitwon, Papai, and their planned pools, bar, spa spaces, and villas are future rather than current facilities.

Editor's Note

Put the exact villa and enclave, under-12 versus under-16 child rule, Terrazza's 16+ threshold, transfer inclusion, package entitlement, Zing Zing calendar, and applicable cancellation policy into the confirmation. Ask separately about pets, spa and pool hours, and overnight dining because the house publishes no property-wide pet rule, no spa or pool timetable, and no conventional 24-hour room service.

Reviewed by Hotel Flock · Last updated September 2026