
Lamai, Tanzania
Singita Mara River Tented Camp: Six solar-powered tents on a Mara River bend, with an inclusive safari rhythm and several house-rule conflicts to settle before travel
Singita Mara River Tented Camp is a six-unit, off-grid solar camp on a bend of the Mara River in the Lamai Triangle of northern Serengeti National Park. Four one-bedroom Tents take two guests each, while two Family Tents take up to four, described as two adults and two children. Every suite is presented as a river-facing tented sanctuary with a private deck or sala, an outdoor bathtub, a fan, and a compact fitness kit. Singita gives neither category a floor area or private pool, and it does not state an opening year, architect, step-free route, adapted-tent specification, or pet and service-animal policy. The shared plunge pool, dining deck, firepit, and wellness tent sit in the main camp.
Resolve the calendar before flights. Current information and 2026/27 rate material close the camp from 15 January through 31 May; the linked brochure instead says it is open year-round except March and April. Check-in is 13h00 in current information and annual terms but 14h00 in the brochure; check-out is 11h00. Children are welcomed from age 10 in most house material, while the family experience says “older than 10,” leaving exact age 10 unresolved. Children’s safari participation remains at the guide’s discretion. Festive stays carry a three-night minimum, while a new 2027 rule adds a two-night year-round minimum outside the festive period. Put dates, arrival time, and every child’s exact age into one written confirmation.
The normal arrival is by air to Serengeti Lamai airstrip, followed by an included road transfer of about 45 minutes. Flights and transport to the reserve are extra. Official exclusions also refer to transport “to and from Singita Lamai,” even though Mara is in Lamai and the airstrip-to-camp road transfer is expressly included. Ask Singita to clarify in writing which transport that exclusion covers. Use soft-sided luggage. Current information caps checked baggage at 15 kilograms or 33 pounds, while an older travel guide calls the same 15 kilograms 34 pounds; Grumeti Air also permits one 5-kilogram or 11-pound hand item. Passport guidance differs too: current information asks for two blank visa pages, while the older guide asks for one completely blank page; both require six months’ validity. Follow current government and carrier rules. The camp is in a malaria-risk area, wildlife moves freely through it, and the arrival safety briefing matters.
Accommodation, all meals and beverages, twice-daily game drives, return Lamai-airstrip road transfers, and very limited laundry are included. Current information expressly includes premium wines, spirits, and liqueurs. A linked brochure excludes French Champagne, while newer information and rate sheets do not repeat that exclusion, so ask rather than assume. The 2026/27 rate PDFs expressly exclude the Carbon Offset Levy, while the current information page omits it from its exclusions; obtain written confirmation rather than treating the omission as inclusion. Park or wildlife fees, concession fee, Tourism Development Levy, wellness treatments, boutique purchases, flights, private vehicles, and additional or third-party activities are extra. Small laundry loads have a 24-hour on-site turnaround; larger loads go off site with a 72-hour turnaround.
Dining is an included resident lodge service, not a collection of named restaurants. Meals move among the dining deck, breakfast area, pool sala, and fire; the bar-deli supplies help-yourself snacks, and portable food can support longer drives. Private wine tastings or evening pairings may be arranged in the main dining area or library, subject to weather and availability. No meal, bar-deli, poolside, or wine-experience timetable is stated, and neither private dining nor room service is stated in the house information. Dietary restrictions and Halaal meals can be accommodated; send special requests at least 14 days ahead.
Wellness treatments are extra and begin with a foot soak before a tailored mix that may include massage, meditation, or sound therapy. The live description places sessions outdoors and moves them inside in rain; other Singita material also points to a Wellness tent, in-suite treatments, treatment rooms, and guest-deck sessions without explaining which setting applies. There is no dedicated fitness room: the in-tent kit supports self-guided exercise, and guided yoga is not currently promised at Mara. Older regional material lists guided safari walks with a suggested minimum age of 16 and guide discretion, but Mara’s current experience set omits walking, so confirm availability. The shared plunge pool has no stated dimensions, temperature, depth, lifeguard provision, accessibility, or hours.
Singita first defines a Group as occupying more than 60% of beds, then says a Group taking 60% or more must take exclusive use. Exactly 60% is unresolved, and the house does not explain how beds are counted. Mara also has no public buyout category, capacity, or inclusions, so do not convert the percentage into a guest threshold. Book this camp for a small-scale, canvas-close safari, river outlook, twice-daily drives, and inclusive food and drink. Skip it if a guaranteed crossing, private-concession seclusion, air-conditioning, a restaurant timetable, guided yoga, confirmed walks, a published room size, or settled accessibility and pet provisions are essential. Trip.com shows 9.8 out of 10 from five verified reviews; Postcard shows 4.6 out of 5 from 73 reviews. Recurring strengths are the river, wildlife and guiding, food, and personal service; cautions include night noise, public-park vehicle pressure, and occasional uneven service or value perceptions.




First day
- Resolve the 15 January–31 May versus March–April closure and 13h00 versus 14h00 check-in.
- Give every child’s exact age; age 10 conflicts with older than 10, and safari participation is discretionary.
- Confirm the Lamai flight and included 45-minute airstrip road transfer, then obtain written clarification of the conflicting exclusion for transport to and from Singita Lamai; reserve transport and flights remain extra.
- Explicitly confirm breakfast timing, that breakfast is included within all meals, and every dietary or Halaal requirement submitted at least 14 days ahead; also confirm French Champagne.
- Reserve wellness and confirm its location; treatments are extra, guided yoga is not promised, and walks need confirmation.
- For groups, resolve more-than-60% versus 60%-or-more exclusive-use wording and ask how beds are counted.
- Confirm in writing that the 2026/27 rate PDFs expressly exclude the Carbon Offset Levy even though the current information page omits it from its exclusions.
What guests say
Hotel Flock Score
Outstanding
Based on 78 published ratings
Category breakdown
Guests Love
Mara River setting
Both current review pages repeatedly make the river outlook, nearby wildlife, and chance of a crossing the defining reasons to stay.
Guiding and wildlife
Reviewers frequently credit knowledgeable guides and long drive days for memorable sightings without treating crossings as guaranteed.
Food and personal service
Fresh meals, flexible food service, thoughtful housekeeping, and individual attention recur across both review sets.
Guests Warn
Noise and heat
Some guests warn light sleepers about loud animals, while fan-cooled canvas can feel warm to travellers expecting air-conditioning.
Public-park pressure
Some reviews note rough roads and vehicle concentration around crossings because this is national-park terrain.
Occasional uneven service or value
A minority of aggregated reviews report service below prior Singita expectations and question value, though this is not dominant.
The overall score is a review-count-weighted average of named public platforms, normalized to /10. Category scores — including cleanliness and location — are Hotel Flock editorial readings of those reviews, not a platform's private formula. Hotel Flock is not affiliated with Tripadvisor, Booking.com, Trivago, or any other review site.
In the stay
- Accommodation in the booked Tent or Family Tent
- All meals, including breakfast, and beverages including premium wines, spirits, and liqueurs; breakfast timing is not stated
- Twice-daily game drives in open vehicles
- Return road transfers between Serengeti Lamai airstrip and camp, subject to written clarification of the conflicting Singita Lamai transport exclusion
- Very limited laundry
Usually extra
- –Park or wildlife, concession, and tourism-development levies
- –Carbon Offset Levy, expressly excluded by 2026/27 rate PDFs but omitted from the current information-page exclusions
- –Wellness treatments and boutique purchases
- –Flights, reserve transport, private vehicles, and charters; clarify the separate exclusion for transport to and from Singita Lamai
- –Ballooning and other additional or third-party activities
- –French Champagne according to the linked brochure, pending confirmation
Good to Know
- Closure wording conflicts between 15 January–31 May and March–April.
- Check-in is stated as both 13h00 and 14h00; check-out is 11h00.
- Child wording conflicts between age 10 and over and older than 10.
- Group wording conflicts at exactly 60% of beds.
- French Champagne requires explicit confirmation.
- The 2026/27 rate PDFs expressly exclude the Carbon Offset Levy, while the current information page omits it from its exclusions.
- Lamai-airstrip road transfers are included and reserve transport or flights are extra, yet official exclusions also name transport to and from Singita Lamai; obtain written clarification.
- The 15-kilogram limit is shown as 33 and 34 pounds; passport guidance asks for one or two blank pages.
- Wellness locations vary; current guided yoga and Mara walking safaris are not promised.
- Room sizes, venue and spa hours, access, pet rules, private dining, and room service are not stated.
Editor's Note
Before ticketing, confirm the closure window, check-in time, eligibility of anyone aged exactly 10, baggage rule, passport-page requirement, Champagne treatment, all levies, and any access or pet need. Groups should obtain written treatment of exactly 60% occupancy rather than assuming it triggers—or avoids—exclusive use.
Reviewed by Hotel Flock · Last updated August 2026


