Skip to content
Southern Ocean Lodge
Ultra-LuxuryCountryside

Kangaroo Island, Australia

25 suites on the current stay page; an owner reopening release said 23
Max Pritchard
Kangaroo Island, Australia

Southern Ocean Lodge: A rebuilt clifftop lodge where Southern Ocean views, island touring and South Australian dining shape the stay

Southern Ocean Lodge runs along the limestone cliffs above Hanson Bay on Kangaroo Island's southwest coast, between Flinders Chase National Park and Seal Bay Conservation Park. James and Hayley Baillie opened the Max Pritchard-designed original in 2008; after the 2020 bushfires, the lodge was rebuilt and reopened in December 2023. The current stay page says 25 suites, while an owner reopening release said 23 and the house does not publish a category inventory that reconciles the figures. Every suite faces the ocean or coastal wilderness, and guests must be at least 10 years old.

Choose the room before anything else: Flinders has no pool on its card, Remarkable is the two-bedroom step up, Osprey is the one-off panoramic suite, and Pavilion East and West can combine into the four-bedroom Baillie Pavilion. The separately named Flinders Accessible Suite accommodates up to three according to the package table, but its category card is missing and the attempted dedicated URL returns 404; confirm its exact bed and bathroom arrangement. Southern Spa is for in-house guests and suited to ages 16 and over, with no published opening hours, so arrange treatments early. If the private Cellar Table matters, ask which evenings it will run and whether it is included, because its card leaves both points unresolved.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner in the Restaurant, the Great Room open bar, in-suite bar, premium cellar wine, scheduled signature experiences and shared transfers connecting with scheduled Kangaroo Island flights are included. The cellarmasters list, spa treatments, private touring, private transfers and charter flights are additional. Cellar Table appears in the bespoke experience section, but its own card does not state whether it carries an additional charge. Full in-suite dining is not generally available; only the combined Baillie Pavilion publishes a private-chef dinner option on the final night of stays of at least three nights.

The current guest pages place the drive from Kangaroo Island Airport at about 50 minutes; an older owner guide said 60 minutes, so use the flight-linked transfer details sent for your stay. A separate 60-minute minimum is recommended between an interstate flight and QantasLink. Shared airport transfers are included, while the full Baillie Pavilion includes a private airport transfer. The FAQ says to meet beside the luggage carousel and the package page says Arrivals Hall. Current lodge pages publish no baggage allowance; an old house PDF refers to an airline that no longer serves the route, so check the operating airline directly. Pets and service animals are not addressed on the current public pages.

Book this lodge for the sweep of coast, the all-in rhythm and a stay built around shared guided encounters with Kangaroo Island. Skip it if anyone in the party is under 10, if private touring and private dining throughout are essential, or if you need a published spa timetable before committing. Public guest reviews are strongly positive about the setting, design, suites, guides and many staff interactions; recurring cautions concern the shared dining and touring format, along with a smaller but pointed set of comments about inconsistent service, food, cleanliness and value. Tripadvisor currently shows 4.8 from 833 reviews, while Google Maps shows 4.5 from 119.

Southern Ocean Lodge
The curved main pavilion and suite line settle into Kangaroo Island's coastal heath.
From above, the lodge follows the edge of Hanson Bay and the Southern Ocean.
Evening light along the glass-fronted main pavilion and low suite line.

First day

  1. Reconfirm the scheduled-flight transfer and meeting point. Current pages put the drive at about 50 minutes, while an older owner guide said 60; keep at least 60 minutes between an interstate flight and QantasLink.
  2. Review the personalised shared-experience plan on arrival and request private touring separately if the group format does not suit.
  3. Confirm Restaurant meal times, any Cellar Table availability and whether that private dinner is included. General room service is unavailable.
  4. Book Southern Spa early, confirm its unpublished hours and remember that it is for in-house guests and suited to ages 16 and over.
  5. Settle breakfast timing for the next morning and flag dietary needs; breakfast runs from 7am–9:30am.
  6. Verify the booked suite: all guests must be at least 10, Flinders has no pool on its card, and Flinders Accessible has no live category page.

What guests say

Hotel Flock Score

9.5/ 10

Exceptional

Based on 952 published ratings

Category breakdown

Location
9.8
Cleanliness
9.1
Rooms
9.5
Service
9.2
Dining
9.2
Design
9.7
Value
8.7

Guests Love

  • A setting guests remember

    Across both public review sources, the cliff, ocean outlook and immersion in Kangaroo Island wildlife are the most consistent reasons guests describe the stay as exceptional.

  • Architecture with a sense of place

    Guests repeatedly praise the glass, coastal materials and suites for feeling closely connected to the landscape rather than sealed away from it.

  • Guides and hospitality at their best

    Many reviews highlight knowledgeable nature guides, warm staff and well-organised island experiences as central to the lodge's appeal.

Guests Warn

  • Shared experiences can feel structured

    Some guests find the common Restaurant, fixed outing rhythm and group transfers or tours less private and flexible than they expected.

  • Service and consistency divide opinion

    Although praise dominates, a smaller recurring group reports uneven service, dining, cleanliness or spa experiences and questions the overall value.

The overall score is a review-count-weighted average of named public platforms, normalized to /10. Category scores — including cleanliness and location — are Hotel Flock editorial readings of those reviews, not a platform's private formula. Hotel Flock is not affiliated with Tripadvisor, Booking.com, Trivago, or any other review site.

Awards & Recognition

Two MICHELIN Keys

Displayed by the lodge and MICHELIN Guide

MICHELIN Guide

In the stay

  • Breakfast, lunch and dinner in the Restaurant
  • Great Room open bar, daily-replenished in-suite bar and premium wine from the walk-in cellar
  • Shared return Kangaroo Island Airport transfers connecting with scheduled flights
  • Scheduled signature experiences shared with fellow guests
  • Wi-Fi, the main pool, gym and the lodge's listed recreational equipment

Usually extra

  • –Spa treatments and the separate cellarmasters wine list
  • –Private touring, private transfers outside a qualifying full-Pavilion stay and charter flights
  • –Cellar Table may be additional, but its card does not say; confirm with reservations

Good to Know

  • Guests must be at least 10 years old; Southern Spa is suited to guests aged 16 and over.
  • Check-in begins at 2pm and check-out is 10:30am. The house does not permit check-in or check-out on Christmas Day.
  • Current guest pages say the airport transfer takes about 50 minutes; an older owner guide said 60 minutes.
  • Current lodge pages do not publish a baggage allowance, and an older house PDF contains stale airline information.
  • No current public pet or service-animal policy is published; confirm directly with the lodge.
  • Touring vehicles do not have ramps or lifts, and some visited areas are not readily wheelchair accessible.

Editor's Note

Treat the shared format as part of the lodge rather than a surprise: airport transfers, signature outings and the Restaurant naturally bring guests together. Confirm the unresolved details that affect your stay—the 25-versus-23 suite count does not change booking categories, but Flinders Accessible has no live card, Cellar Table does not state its inclusion, spa hours and pet policy are unpublished, and the current airport drive estimate differs from an older owner guide.

Reviewed by Hotel Flock · Last updated August 2026